How MPs reacted to Theresa May's snap general election

Posted by in news
Picture: DANIEL LEAL-OLIVAS/AFP/Getty Images

A shocking snap General Election was announced on Tuesday morning by Prime Minister Theresa May.

If Parliament decides to back proposal it means a 51 day countdown has officially begun before the nation goes to the polls on 8 June. 

Here's how MPs are reacting to the news - some welcome it with open arms, some have decried it and others have, unsurprisingly, taken the opportunity to poke fun at Jeremy Corbyn.

Labour Leader Jeremy Corbyn:


Liberal Democrats leader Tim Farron


Harriet Harman Labour MP for Camberwell & Peckham


Lord Ashcroft



Steve McCabe, Labour MP for Birmingham


Louise Haigh, Labour MP for Sheffield Heeley


David Davies, Conservative MP for Monmouth


Anna Soubry Conservative MP for Broxtowe


Nicola Sturgeon, First Minister of Scotland


Johnny Mercer, Conservative MP for Plymouth


David Cameron, former PM


Callum McCaig, Scottish National Party MP for Aberdeen South

More: All the times Theresa May said there would not be a snap election

Keep scrolling for next article