Facebook has announced a new feature which will help people see less of their ex-partners when they break up.
When you change your relationship status from “in a relationship”, Facebook will now inform you that you can limit what you can see from your ex, and you can also limit what they can see about you.
This includes blocking them from appearing in your news feed, which will also stop any prompts to message or tag this person.
You can also limit their ability to see your future activity, and decide which shared posts of the past you wish to make private, by a blanket rule if you wish.
The feature is currently being tested in the US but is expected to be rolled out internationally.
Kelly Winters, a Facebook product manager, said:
This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives.
We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.
It’s all a bit Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, really.