Stalker alert: A new Instagram feature lets you secretly save people's pictures

Josh Withey@josh_withey
Thursday 15 December 2016 10:00
Science and Tech
Picture(Annie Spratt / Unsplash)

That accidental late night Instagram double tap is a thing of the past, it's all about private saving now.

We love Instagram, we really do. It gives us the chance to peek at the beauty of the world through our phones.

And marvel at the sheer talent of some world class photographers.

But the photosharing platform is also ideal for finding out what that cute guy/girl you have a crush on has been up to. And maybe if they're single or not.

Come on, we've all been there!

Scrolling late at night through page after page of Instagram photos for relationship clues and then acidently liking a picture from 56 weeks ago.

Well, for all you mild-to-light Instagram detectives out there, the photo sharing giant has just released a brand new feature.

You can now save photos from other people's pages anonymously, and review them anytime you want.

Simply go to a photo you like and tap the little bookmark icon (found at the bottom right hand side of the image) and it will be quietly filed away in your own personal profile.

Picture: Instagram(Instagram)

See?

Instagram also gives you the option to share the image directly with your friends... So eveyone can get involved I guess?

The company wrote in a blog post:

When you stumble upon a funny video you want to remember, a new outfit you like or even inspiration for an upcoming vacation, you can now keep track of favorite posts right from your profile.

So, now you know. And knowing is half the battle.

More: How a glamorous fake Instagram account tricked 50,000 people and hid a horrifying message.

More: Woman freaks out after realising someone is stalking her with Instagram

Trending