Here's a list of all the people who can vote in the EU referendum, and those who can't

Here's a list of all the people who can vote in the EU referendum, and those who can't

Citizens of most EU countries will not be allowed a vote on Britain's membership of the union, regardless of how long they have lived in the UK.

Downing Street is also expected to announce today that 16- and 17-year-olds will not be given a vote either, with eligibility likely to mirror that seen in the general election.

Tory Eurosceptics had feared that as many as 1.5m EU citizens would be able to vote on Britain's future in the union if the rules had been similar to those in local or European elections.

Former defence minister Liam Fox said: "Allowing EU citizens to vote in our referendum would have been an unacceptable dilution of the voice of the British people."

However, because the rules allow any citizens of Commonwealth nations or British Overseas Territories who are also residents of the UK, people from all the following countries will be allowed to vote:

Anguilla Antigua and Barbuda Australia Bahamas, The Bangladesh Barbados Belize Bermuda Botswana British Antarctic Territory British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Darussalam Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Cyprus Dominica Falkland Islands Fiji Ghana Gibraltar Grenada Guyana India Ireland Jamaica Kenya Kiribati Lesotho Malawi Malaysia Maldives Malta Mauritius Montserrat Mozambique Namibia Nauru New Zealand Nigeria Pakistan Papua New Guinea Pitcairn Island Rwanda Samoa Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands Sri Lanka St Helena and dependencies St Kitts and Nevis St Lucia St Vincent and The Grenadines Swaziland Tanzania Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Vanuatu Zambia Zimbabwe

More: Who's in and who's out on Britain's EU referendum campaign

The Conversation (0)