The download feature will be made available to iPhone and Android users in future app updates. Instagram, which is owned by Facebook, has complied with this ruling well ahead of the 25 May deadline.
However, the process isn't as straightforward as hitting a button then the data will arrive in your files.
After making the request, Instagram will send a link to your email inbox. This link will then allow you to download everything, but it will take 48 hours for that link to be sent to you.
In addition to your photos and personal data, Instagram will also send you all of your stories, likes, searches (that could be awkward), DMs (that haven't been deleted), your username, followers and all the people you follow.
What you choose to do with that is completely up to you, but it's nice to know that these big social media firms are actually being a bit more honest now.