There’s a rumour going round that Instagram will send a notifcation to anyone whose pictures you screen shot.
And people are horrified.
But stalkers, relax. There’s been some confusion.
When Instagram announced its news ‘disappearing photos’ feature, where you can send photos to others that disappear after they’ve seen them, it stated:
Swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately. You can choose a group or create one in just a few taps — and you can also send to individual friends at the same time.
Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot.
But you'll be glad to know this doesn't mean Instagram sends people notifications when you screenshot normal images that go on users' newsfeeds.
So, online stalkers, as you were...