Presenting the nominees for the 2014 bad sex in fiction awards

The Literary Review has announced the nominees for its 2014 bad sex in fiction award, which aims to "draw attention to poorly written, perfunctory or redundant passages of sexual description in modern fiction, and to discourage them".

Those in the running this year include Newsnight presenter Kirsty Wark with her debut novel The Legacy of Elizabeth Pringle and Man Booker prize winner Richard Flanagan. The winner will be announced in December. For now, here is the full list of nominees:

The Snow Queen by Michael Cunningham

The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan

The Hormone Factory by Saskia Goldschmidt

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

The Age of Magic by Ben Okri

The Affairs of Others by Amy Grace Loyd

Desert God by Wilbur Smith

Things to Make and Break by May-Lan Tan

The Lemon Grove by Helen Walsh

The Legacy of Elizabeth Pringle by Kirsty Wark

More: These are the eight best books of the year, according to Waterstones

Please log in or register to upvote this article
The Conversation (0)