Where the Islamic veil is banned - and where it is mandatory

Dina Rickman@dinarickman
Wednesday 02 July 2014 19:20
(Picture: Getty

The European Court of Human Rights this week upheld a law in France which banned Muslim veils.

There are three main types of Islamic veil; the hijab, which just covers the hair, the niqab, which covers most of a person's face and hair, and a burqa, which covers most of a person's face, their hair and body. In France burqas and niqabs are banned.

Below is a map of countries and regions where veils are banned by law - and where they are mandatory.