These are the Cabinet ministers who voted against the gay marriage bill

David Cameron is chairing the first all-Conservative Cabinet since 1997 on Tuesday morning following the party's election victory last week.

Of that new Cabinet, Michael Gove, who once called for hanging to be brought back, has been named as justice secretary and John Whittingdale, a critic of the BBC and a man who voted against the gay marriage bill, has been appointed culture secretary.

In fact, like Whittingdale, 136 Tory MPs voted against the government's same-sex marriage legislation in 2013 - compared to 127 who voted in favour.

Here's how the new Cabinet voted:

Of the 28 ministers attending the Cabinet, who also voted on the bill in 2013, 20 supported it, seven opposed it and just one - foreign secretary Philip Hammond - abstained.

Those who voted in favour:

  • David Cameron
  • George Osborne
  • Theresa May
  • Michael Gove
  • Chris Grayling
  • Mark Harper
  • Amber Rudd
  • Sajid Javid
  • Iain Duncan Smith
  • Patrick McLoughlin
  • Liz Truss
  • Anna Soubry
  • Greg Clark
  • Justine Greening
  • Theresa Villiers
  • Jeremy Hunt
  • Greg Hands
  • Matt Hancock
  • David Mundell
  • Oliver Letwin

Those who voted against:

  • Michael Fallon
  • Nicky Morgan
  • Priti Patel
  • Robert Halfon
  • John Whittingdale
  • Stephen Crabb
  • Jeremy Wright

Those who abstained:

  • Philip Hammond
Keep reading...Show less
Please log in or register to upvote this article
The Conversation (0)