These are the 72 MPs that voted against making homes fit for human habitation

Carl Court/Getty Images

Twelve people have been confirmed dead and seventy-five people treated in six hospitals following the fire in the Grenfell tower block in North Kensington Wednesday.

As indy100covered yesterday, people have been sharing articles reporting on a 2016 vote on an ammendent of the Housing and Planning Act in the House of Commons.

Conservative MPs voted down a Labour amendment which sought to ensure all private landlords made certain their homes were “fit for human habitation”.

As the earlier article has explained, the law that was voted down pertained to private landlords and therefore would have had no effect on the Grenfell tower on the Lancaster West estate in North Kensington.

In addition, the Metropolitan Police have said it is too early to speculate on the cause of the fire

Despite the fact the two are not linked, people sharing last year's news does mean that the contentious issue of the rejected amendment has been thrust into the public dialogue once again.

According to Parliament's register of interests at the time, 72 of the MPs who voted down the amendment on homes being “fit for human habitation” were themselves landlords who derived an income from a property.

The 72 MPs who were registered as deriving income from property of over £10,000 a year and who voted against the law, were as follows:

Nigel Adams

Stuart Andrew

Victoria Atkins

Jake Berry

James Berry

Bob Blackman

Robert Buckland

Alun Cairns

David Cameron

Alex Chalk

James Cleverley

Geoffrey Clifton-Brown

Therese Coffey

Geoffrey Cox

Mims Davies

Philip Davies

Richard Drax

James Duddridge

Alan Duncan

Philip Dunne

Jane Ellison

George Eustice

Mike Freer

Richard Fuller

John Glen

Robert Goodwill

Chris Grayling

Dominic Grieve

Chris Heaton-Harris

Peter Heaton-Jones

George Hollingberry

Kevin Hollinrake

Philip Hollobone

Nick Hurd

Stewart Jackson

Margot James

Sajid Javid

Joseph Johnson

Simon Kirby (teller)

Greg Knight

Brandon Lewis

Julian Lewis

Craig Mackinlay

Tania Mathias

Karl McCartney

Anne Marie Morris

Sheryll Murray

Robert Neill

Sarah Newton (teller)

Jesse Norman

David Nuttall

Neil Parish

Owen Paterson

Rebecca Pow

Jeremy Quin

Jacob Rees-Mogg

Laurence Robertson

Julian Smith

Royston Smith

Mark Spencer

John Stevenson

Desmond Swayne

Derek Thomas

Anne-Marie Trevelyan

Andrew Turner

Shailesh Vara

Theresa Villiers

Ben Wallace

David Warburton

Craig Whittaker

John Whittingdale

Nadhim Zahawi

Keep reading...Show less
Please log in or register to upvote this article
The Conversation (0)