Everyone is freaking out over this new Facebook feature

Greg Evans
Monday 17 July 2017 09:00
news
Picture:(Getty Images)

Whether you like it or not, social media has taken over our lives.

Rarely an hour goes by where we don't check Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat or YouTube for an update of what is going on in the world.

The top dog of them all remains Facebook, and it has just taken its next step towards full on life invasion.

Earlier this month the Internet giant installed a new button to people's profile pages which simply allows you to say 'Hello' to someone.

Picture: FACEBOOK (FACEBOOK)

The horror.

All it does is wave hello to someone, which is a perfectly pleasant thing to do in the otherwise toxic world of social media.

It's reminiscent of the old 'Poke' feature which was fairly innocent but this new feature has exposed many users more sordid Facebook habits.

That's right, we're talking about stalking.

Checking up on your ex, an old colleague, your boss or that person that you fancy is something that most people have done on the site.

However, this new feature is causing one or two problems for those secret stalkers out there, who are accidentally hitting the button when trying to add or unfriend someone.

Thankfully Facebook has considered that some people might accidentally click 'Hello' and there is a way to fix it.

All you need to do is re-click hello before the other person has seen it and they will be none the wiser.

Loading....

This is one of a number of changes that Facebook is introducing to the platform.

They've already added emoji reactions to Messenger and there is their new, highly advanced virtual reality environment called Spaces, which will allow users to meet in a digital world rather than face-to-face. Thank goodness.

Facebook founder, Mark Zuckerberg, has also vowed to introduce elements to the website which will stop men cheating on their partners.

HT Lad Bible The Sun

More: The scam every Facebook user should be aware of

Trending