How MPs reacted to Theresa May's snap general election


A shocking snap General Election was announced on Tuesday morning by Prime Minister Theresa May.

If Parliament decides to back proposal it means a 51 day countdown has officially begun before the nation goes to the polls on 8 June.

Here's how MPs are reacting to the news - some welcome it with open arms, some have decried it and others have, unsurprisingly, taken the opportunity to poke fun at Jeremy Corbyn.

Labour Leader Jeremy Corbyn:

Liberal Democrats leader Tim Farron

Harriet Harman Labour MP for Camberwell & Peckham

Lord Ashcroft

Steve McCabe, Labour MP for Birmingham

Louise Haigh, Labour MP for Sheffield Heeley

David Davies, Conservative MP for Monmouth

Anna Soubry Conservative MP for Broxtowe

Nicola Sturgeon, First Minister of Scotland

Johnny Mercer, Conservative MP for Plymouth

David Cameron, former PM

Callum McCaig, Scottish National Party MP for Aberdeen South

Keep reading...Show less
Please log in or register to upvote this article
The Conversation (0)