Greece's parliament has voted to recognise Palestinian statehood - here are all the other countries that already do

Louis Dor
Wednesday 23 December 2015 16:20
Alexis Tsipras shakes hands with Palestinian president Mahmud Abbas

On 22 December, Greece's parliament voted in a non-binding resolution to recognise the state of Palestine, making it the latest European country to do so.

The parliamentary session was attended by Palestinian president Mahmoud Abbas and Greek prime minister Alexis Tsipras, on the second day of Abbas' two-date official visit.

The vote was non-binding and therefore does not represent the state, only the legislative body, so as "not to disturb good relations with Israel", according to a statement released by the Greek foreign ministry.

Several other European parliaments, including the UK and Ireland, have passed similar resolutions.

Palestine currently enjoys bilateral recognition of statehood from 137 countries.

To see history of Palestine's recognition, click and scroll on the timeline below:

Follow us on Twitter @thei100

More: Here are all the countries that recognise Palestinian statehood

More: Louis CK just made an excellent analogy about Israel-Palestine