A map of the countries where same-sex marriage is still illegal


Taiwan's Constitutional Court issued a ruling last week to legalise same-sex marriage, making it the first nation in Asia to do so.

The first country to legalise equal marriage rights was the Netherlands in 2001. Sixteen years later there are now 23 other countries where same-sex marriage is legal.

In 2013, Westminster passed same-sex marriage laws in the UK and Scotland and the first ceremonies took place in the following year. However, equal marriage rights still remain a contentious issue in Northern Ireland.

The countries where same-sex marriage is legal are: -

Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Britain (excluding Northern Ireland), Canada, Colombia, Denmark (and Greenland), Finland, France, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, South Africa, Sweden, United States, Uruguay.

You can see them all in this map here:

More: The reason this boss walked his employee down the aisle will restore your faith in humanity

The Conversation (0)