(Picture: Carl Court/Getty Images
(Picture: Carl Court/Getty Images

Two years ago, academics analysed data from a survey of 325,00 adults and concluded there were seven distinct social classes in the modern British class system, as opposed to the traditional upper, middle and lower.

The Great British Class Survey of 2013, by academics from the University of Manchester, the London School of Economics and Political Science, and the University of York, found that the majority of Britons no longer fitted into the traditional class model.

The seven new classes were described to have come about as a result of spiralling levels of inequality in Britain, and were described as follows:

Wealthy elite:
The most privileged group in the UK, distinct from the other six classes through its wealth. This group has the highest levels of all three capitals (see below).

Established middle class:
The second wealthiest, scoring highly on all three capitals. The largest and most gregarious group, scoring second highest for cultural capital.

Technical middle class:
A small, distinctive new class group which is prosperous but scores low for social and cultural capital. Distinguished by its social isolation and cultural apathy.

New affluent workers:
A young class group which is socially and culturally active, with middling levels of economic capital.

Traditional working class:
Scores low on all forms of capital, but is not completely deprived. Its members have reasonably high house values, explained by this group having the oldest average age at 66.

Emergent service workers:
A new, young, urban group which is relatively poor but has high social and cultural capital.

Precariat, or precarious proletariat:
The poorest, most deprived class, scoring low for social and cultural capital.

Keep reading...Show less
Please log in or register to upvote this article
The Conversation (0)