(Picture: TIMOTHY A. CLARY/AFP/Getty Images
(Picture: TIMOTHY A. CLARY/AFP/Getty Images

Last month the Palestinian chargé d’affaires in Canada, Hamdi Abu Ali, asked the newly elected Canadian prime minister Justin Trudeau to formally recognise Palestine as a country.

He said:

We hope this new government will join the international community and recognise the state of Palestine.

We are confident that Canada will start to see us as a people who want to join other nations in having their own independence and their own sovereignty.

Should Canada recognise Palestine, it would become one of the few western countries to do so. Sweden did so last year.

The Palestinian flag was raised for the first time at the UN at the end of September, after the General Assembly adopted a resolution that permits non-member observer states to fly flags alongside those of full member states.

The countries that recognise Palestine are as follows:

The following territories were not able to be visualised due to limitations:

Bahrain (15/11/1988)
Malta (16/11/1988)
Mauritius (17/11/1988)
Seychelles (18/11/1988)
Comoros (21/11/1988)
Cape Verde (24/11/1988)
Maldives (28/11/1988)
Sao Tome & Principe (10/12/1988)
Vanuatu (21/08/1989)
Argentina (06/12/2010)
St Vincent and the Grenadines (29/08/2011)
Dominica (19/09/2011)
Antigua & Barbuda (22/09/2011)
Grenada (25/09/2011)
Vatican (26/06/2015)
Saint Lucia (14/09/2015)

To see the full timeline of Palestine's recognition, see below:

Keep reading...Show less
Please log in or register to upvote this article
The Conversation (0)