Tory leadership election 2022: Who's backing who?

Tory leadership election 2022: Who's backing who?

Related video: Jeremy Hunt names Esther McVey as his deputy PM should he win Tory leadership


If it isn’t confusing keeping up with who’s ruling themselves in and out of the latest Conservative Party leadership contest, then it’s certainly a challenge trying to figure out just how many Tory MPs back each of the handful of contenders currently standing for the position.

Penny Mordaunt threw her hat into the - now very large - ring on Sunday morning, only for her campaign video to be hit with controversy after featuring convicted murderer Oscar Pistorius.

Former and existing members of Boris Johnson’s government have also put their names forward - such as Rishi Sunak, Grant Shapps, Suella Braverman, Nadhim Zahawi, Liz Truss and Kemi Badenoch.

It’s also been reported that the current home secretary, Priti Patel, is set to confirm whether she plans to stand for the leadership. Even though she’s yet to say anything either way, she already has the backing of seven Tory MPs at the time of writing.

Then there’s the hopefuls giving it another go after giving it a try back in 2019 – former health secretaries Sajid Javid and Jeremy Hunt.

Oh, and then there’s the chair of the Foreign Affairs Select Committee, Tom Tugendhat.

Sign up to our free Indy100 weekly newsletter

At the moment, however, it’s Mr Sunak who has the backing of the most Tory MPs – 28, to be exact – with Ms Mordaunt not far behind with 19.

But who are all these MPs? Well, allow us to tell you via the lists below:

Rishi Sunak

  1. Bim Afolami MP
  2. Siobhan Bailie MP
  3. Anthony Browne MP
  4. James Cartlidge MP
  5. Maria Caulfield MP
  6. Claire Coutinho MP
  7. Gareth Davies MP
  8. Oliver Dowden MP
  9. Ruth Edwards MP
  10. Liam Fox MP
  11. Louie French MP
  12. Peter Gibson MP
  13. John Glen MP
  14. Sir Robert Goodwill MP
  15. Greg Hands MP
  16. Mark Harper MP
  17. Simon Hart MP
  18. Simon Hoare MP
  19. Kevin Hollinrake MP
  20. Robert Jenrick MP
  21. Faye Jones MP
  22. Simon Jupp MP
  23. Julie Marson MP
  24. Paul Maynard MP
  25. Andrew Murrison MP
  26. Bob Neil MP
  27. Rebecca Pow MP
  28. Angela Richardson MP
  29. Mark Spencer MP
  30. Mel Stride MP
  31. Laura Trott MP
  32. Helen Whately MP
  33. Craig Williams MP
  34. Jacob Young MP

Sajid Javid

  1. Ed Argar MP
  2. Saqib Bhatti MP
  3. Steve Double MP
  4. Robert Halfon MP
  5. Rachel Maclean MP
  6. Chris Philp MP
  7. Mary Robinson MP
  8. Robin Walker MP
  9. Mike Wood MP
  10. Jeremy Wright MP

Jeremy Hunt

  1. Crispin Blunt MP
  2. Peter Bottomley MP
  3. Steve Brine MP
  4. Philip Davies MP
  5. Philip Dunne MP
  6. Oliver Heald MP
  7. Daniel Kawczynski MP
  8. Esther McVey MP
  9. Anthony Magnall MP
  10. Andrew Mitchell MP
  11. David Morris MP
  12. Dan Poulter MP

Kemi Badenoch

  1. Lee Anderson MP
  2. Gareth Bacon MP
  3. Ben Bradley MP
  4. Michael Gove MP
  5. Eddie Hughes MP
  6. Tom Hunt MP
  7. Andrew Lewer MP
  8. Julia Lopez MP
  9. Dr Caroline Johnson MP
  10. Neil O’Brien MP
  11. Lee Rowley MP
  12. Justin Tomlinson MP

Liz Truss

  1. Rob Butler MP
  2. Simon Clarke MP
  3. Thérèse Coffey MP
  4. Dehenna Davison MP
  5. Jackie Doyle-Price MP
  6. Vicky Ford MP
  7. Marcus Fysh MP
  8. Darren Henry MP
  9. Ranil Jayawardena MP
  10. Julian Knight MP
  11. Kwasi Kwarteng MP
  12. Wendy Morton MP
  13. Dean Russell MP
  14. Alec Shelbrooke MP
  15. Chloe Smith MP

Nadhim Zahawi

  1. Jack Brereton MP
  2. Sara Britcliffe MP
  3. Michelle Donelan MP
  4. Tobias Ellwood MP
  5. Mark Fletcher MP
  6. Jonathan Gullis MP
  7. Mark Jenkinson MP
  8. David Johnston MP
  9. Brandon Lewis MP
  10. Amanda Milling MP
  11. Jesse Norman MP
  12. Paul Scully MP
  13. Maggie Throup MP

Suella Braverman

  1. Steve Baker MP
  2. Jason McCartney MP
  3. Richard Drax MP
  4. Sir John Hayes MP
  5. Philip Hollobone MP
  6. Danny Kruger MP
  7. Julian Lewis MP
  8. Robin Millar MP
  9. Henry Smith MP
  10. Sir Desmond Swayne MP

Tom Tugendhat

  1. Nickie Aiken MP
  2. Aaron Bell MP
  3. Jake Berry MP
  4. Karen Bradley MP
  5. Chris Green MP
  6. Damian Green MP
  7. Stephen Hammond MP
  8. Paul Holmes MP
  9. Robert Largan MP
  10. Mark Logan MP
  11. Damian Moore MP
  12. Anne Marie Morris MP
  13. John Stevenson MP
  14. Sir Robert Syms MP
  15. Anne-Marie Trevelyan MP

Penny Mordaunt

  1. Caroline Ansell MP
  2. Harriet Baldwin MP
  3. Duncan Baker MP
  4. Theo Clarke MP
  5. Elliot Colburn MP
  6. Damian Collins MP
  7. Caroline Dinenage MP
  8. Michael Fabricant MP
  9. George Freeman MP
  10. James Gray MP
  11. Alicia Kearns MP
  12. John Lamont MP
  13. Andrea Leadsom MP
  14. Maria Miller MP
  15. Robbie Moore MP
  16. Kieran Mullan MP
  17. Nicola Richards MP
  18. James Sunderland MP
  19. Derek Thomas MP
  20. Craig Tracey MP
  21. Sir Charles Walker MP

Grant Shapps

  1. Paul Bristow MP
  2. Robert Courts MP
  3. Dr James Davies MP
  4. George Eustice MP
  5. Trudy Harrison MP
  6. Mark Pritchard MP
  7. Graham Stuart MP

Rehman Chishti

No one - yet.

Priti Patel (undeclared)

  1. Simon Baynes MP
  2. Scott Benton MP
  3. Brendan Clarke-Smith MP
  4. Anna Firth MP
  5. Kevin Foster MP
  6. Andrea Jenkyns MP
  7. Ian Levy MP
  8. Ian Liddell-Grainger MP
  9. Tom Pursglove MP
  10. Laurence Robertson MP
  11. Greg Smith MP

Further details around the leadership election and its timetable are expected to be confirmed by the 1922 Committee of backbench MPs this week.

Have your say in our news democracy. Click the upvote icon at the top of the page to help raise this article through the indy100 rankings.

The Conversation (0)