Picture: Kerry Davies - WPA Pool/Getty Images
Picture: Kerry Davies - WPA Pool/Getty Images

Theresa May has become the leader of the Conservative Party following the withdrawal of Andrea Leadsom from the race.

This means she is almost guaranteed to become the prime minister having received the approval of only 199 MPs.

In 2007, under similar conditions, she told then-prime minister Gordon Brown.

Whenever Gordon Brown chooses to call a general election, we will be ready for him. He has no democratic mandate.

Fast-forward to 2016 and she now says:

There should be no general election until 2020.


It should be pointed out, in our democracy we elect MPs representing parties - we don't have a presidential system, meaning we don't directly elect our prime minister.

However, with David Cameron in charge, the Conservative government was elected by 11,334,576 voters. May was elected by just 35,453 constituents as an MP and then likely leader of the country by 199 Tory MPs.

Now these MPs represent the people who voted for them and their party, and it definitely should be noted that UK politics does not work in the method with which we are about to compare.

But it's fun, so we are going to do it anyway.

And lots of other people have been pointing out the problem:

The point remains that May can only claim to have been chosen as a leader of a Conservative government by, at best, 35,652 people, assuming all of her constituents want her as leader.

Anyway, here's a list of politicians who can claim to have been elected by more of the UK's population than our next prime minister.

Keep reading...Show less
Please log in or register to upvote this article
The Conversation (0)