DC comic writer reveals he's been paying this low-key tribute to Stan Lee for years

Narjas Zatat@Narjas_Zatat
Tuesday 13 November 2018 12:00
news

DC writer Tom King has revealed that he’s been honouring Stan Lee with his comic book – on the down low.

In a tweet paying tribute to the late writer, who died at the age of 95 on Monday, he revealed that he introduces his comic stories with ‘DC Comics presents.’

Eagle-eyed comic book fans will notice that it’s a play on Lee’s words, who used to introduce his comics with ‘Stan Lee presents.’

He wrote:

He meant so much.

As a tribute to Stan and his immortal “Stan Lee presents,” since the start of my career, I’ve tried always to put a “DC Comics presents” before my titles.

I told him this once.

He nodded, patted my back, and said, “forget that, kid. Just write for Marvel.”

King went on to write for Marvel on The Vision, before he became the exclusive creator for DC.

Not all fans noticed King's stealthy hat-tip to one of the greatest comic book writers ever...

Fans of both DC and Marvel were touched

King joined millions in mourning the death of Stan.

More: Stan Lee's 7 most inspiring quotes as Marvel Comics legend dies aged 95

More: People are sharing photos of Obama in the rain to mock Trump for cancelling a trip to a cemetery due to bad weather

Trending