DC writer Tom King has revealed that he’s been honouring Stan Lee with his comic book – on the down low.

In a tweet paying tribute to the late writer, who died at the age of 95 on Monday, he revealed that he introduces his comic stories with ‘DC Comics presents.’

Eagle-eyed comic book fans will notice that it’s a play on Lee’s words, who used to introduce his comics with ‘Stan Lee presents.’

He wrote:

He meant so much.

As a tribute to Stan and his immortal “Stan Lee presents,” since the start of my career, I’ve tried always to put a “DC Comics presents” before my titles.

I told him this once.

He nodded, patted my back, and said, “forget that, kid. Just write for Marvel.”

King went on to write for Marvel on The Vision, before he became the exclusive creator for DC.

Not all fans noticed King's stealthy hat-tip to one of the greatest comic book writers ever...

Fans of both DC and Marvel were touched

King joined millions in mourning the death of Stan.

Keep reading...Show less
Please log in or register to upvote this article
The Conversation (0)